Rethinking the republican image

January 5, 2009 § Leave a comment

republican

I was reading the year-ending issue of Newsweek a couple of weeks ago, when I noticed this interesting design article. Newsweek commissioned four design agencies from across America to “Re-brand” the Republican image (much in the same way that Barack’s successful campaign branded him as an agent of “Change”).

While I don’t necessarily agree with what the GOP may stand for, I do believe an overhaul of the Republican image is necessary. Barack’s campaign has changed the landscape of how campaigns will be run. The days of somber tones and cliche imagery are in the past.

I think that all of the above rebrands are nice, but the job done by Pentagram, out of NY, is the most appealing to me.  I like the strong concept and colors used, and I am a sucker for strong typography.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rethinking the republican image at Shift+W.

meta

