New fitness plan

January 6, 2009 § Leave a comment

fitnessplan

Recently, I read an article about the strength and conditioning program that the UNC Tar Heel basketball team uses. Men’s Health outlined their 10-step medicine ball workout. Being a UNC alum and avid Tar Heel fan I thought I would give it a try. After the first time doing it I felt muscles in my core that I didn’t know I had.

I thought I would modify the workout to add some cardio. Read below the cut for all the details.

Its very simple. I will be running short 1 mile intervals in-between the medicine ball routine. These short bursts of cardio activity should get my metabolism going faster, due to the fact that my heart rate is going up, then coming back down, then going up again. I will then do the full medicine ball routine, then run another mile.

Right now I am running 3 miles in this format and doing the medicine ball routine twice. I hope to eventually increase this running 4 miles and doing the medicine ball routine 3 times.

This will be my cardio day at the gym. I will do the cardio day 3 times a week, and heavy-lifting twice a week.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New fitness plan at Shift+W.

meta

