“Insert name here” has a posse.

January 28, 2009 § Leave a comment

andre_the_giant

Last week when I was looking at Shepard Fairey’s Obama poster, I stumbled upon some of his early work. While I probably should have known about the “Andre the Giant has a posse” stickers that made him famous, I have to say that I did not.

I only mention this because even though I had never seen the sticker, it was immediately familiar to me. See why after the cut.

jackie

While I was a senior at UNC, t-shirts featuring Tar Heel basketball player Jackie Manuel started circulating around campus. The shirts featured an image just like Shepard Fairey’s original Andre the Giant sticker, only this time it feature a fan favorite basketball player.

The shirt lovingly hangs in my closet as a reminder of my college days, and now it gains a totally new status based on its roots.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Insert name here” has a posse. at Shift+W.

meta

