Crowdspring: Fair or Foul?

February 4, 2009 § Leave a comment

crowdspring

So there has been some recent discussion on the blogosphere about the website Crowdspring. For those of you that have never heard of Crowdspring, let me give you a brief rundown.

Crowdspring is basically a community of designers.  An individual or company will post that they need something designed for them on Crowdspring. They will set a payoff to the winning designer,  this payoff is normally rather low for the services being provided, and then the community of designers will submit their designs.

I am quite conflicted about the whole idea, but the more I hear about it, the less I like it. As a rather young designer myself, I see that Crowdspring might be a good place to hone your skills. That’s about where the good ends.

I feel like this site degrades designers everywhere. It kind of reminds me of the concept of putting 100 monkeys in front of typewriters. You may get something worthwhile out of a large group of talent, but there’s no guarantee (due to the ambiguity of the Internet) that the “winning” designer knows how to properly set up the files to print accordingly. It’s this quality assurance expertise that sets apart a professional designer from a random person who has Adobe.

Sorry, I’m a bit rambly. Anyway, am I crazy for thinking this? Does this bother anyone else?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crowdspring: Fair or Foul? at Shift+W.

meta

